Pad Thai is a classic Thai dish of rice noodles, chicken, beef or tofu, eggs, vegetables, tamarind juice, fish sauce and palm sugar. I’ve placed “Pad Thai” in parenthesis for this End Of The Rainbow “Pad Thai” to indicate that this is not the classic dish, but it lives up to the sweet, savory, tangy, spicy labels of the original, it comes together in minutes and its rainbow colors are sooooo inviting.
End Of The Rainbow “Pad Thai”
- Large pot for cooking rice noodles
- Large heavy skillet
- 8 ounces rice noodles
- 4 Tablespoons reduced sodium gluten free tamari (or soy sauce, liquid aminos or coconut aminos)
- 2 Tablespoons rice vinegar
- 4 Tablespoons maple syrup
- 2 Tablespoons lime juice freshly squeezed
- 1 teaspoon Sriracha
- 1 Tablespoon olive oil
- 2 large carrots thinly sliced into strips
- 3 scallions thinly sliced
- ½ cup snow peas string removed and thinly sliced
- 1 red bell pepper thinly sliced
- 1 yellow or orange bell pepper thinly sliced
- cilantro, chopped peanuts or cashews, sliced lime for garnish
- Prepare the rice noodles according to the package directions. Drain, rinse with cold water and set aside. Rice noodles tend to stick together. Draining with cold water will help. If you are not adding the noodles to the skillet immediately after rinsing, you can coat them with 1 or 2 teaspoons of olive oil. Toss gently with tongs every few minutes to keep the noodles separated.
- Whisk together the reduced sodium gluten free tamari or substitute, rice vinegar, maple syrup, lime juice and Sriracha in a small bowl.
- Heat the olive oil in a large heavy skillet over medium high heat.
- Add the carrots, scallions, snow peas and bell peppers to the skillet and stir fry for several minutes until the vegetables are lightly cooked and vibrant in color.
- Add the noodles and the sauce to the skillet and toss gently to combine.
- Serve immediately and garnish with chopped cilantro, chopped peanuts or cashews and sliced lime.
Ingredients You’ll Need For This End Of The Rainbow “Pad Thai”…
- Rice noodles
- Reduced sodium gluten free tamari(or soy sauce, coconut aminos or liquid aminos)
- Rice vinegar
- Maple syrup
- Lime juice plus one lime for garnish
- Olive oil
- Snow peas
- Red bell pepper
- Orange or yellow bell pepper
- Fresh cilantro for garnish
- Chopped peanuts or cashews for garnish
Whip This Restaurant Style Dish Up In Minutes…
Prepare the rice noodles according to the package directions. Drain and rinse with cold water. Rice noodles tend to stick together. Draining with cold water will help. If you are not adding the noodles to the skillet immediately after rinsing, you can coat them with 1 or 2 teaspoons of olive oil and toss every few minutes with tongs to keep them separated.
Whisk together the reduced sodium gluten free tamari(or substitute), rice vinegar, maple syrup, lime juice and Sriracha in a small bowl.
Heat the olive oil in a large heavy skillet over medium high heat.
Add the carrots, scallions, snow peas and bell peppers to the skillet and stir fry for several minutes until the vegetables are lightly cooked and vibrant in color.
Add the noodles and the sauce to the skillet and toss gently with tongs to combine.
Serve immediately and garnish with chopped cilantro, chopped peanuts or cashews and sliced lime.
Things You Might Like To Know About This Recipe For Rainbow Vegan “Pad Thai”…
Cilantro is a fresh herb which is the leaf of the coriander plant. The leaves are easily mistaken for flat leaf parsley. Even I, who know better, have come home with parsley when I meant to purchase cilantro. Coriander spice comes from the seeds of the cilantro plant and has a very different flavor than cilantro. Indian, Mexican, Middle Eastern and Asian recipes often use cilantro.
It has a citrus, peppery taste, but to some part of the population, it tastes like soap. If you’re planning a meal which has cilantro as a component, it’s always great to check with your guests to make sure that they don’t have this taste experience. Wash it carefully to remove any dirt. You can also place it in a bowl of cold water for a few minutes to allow any additional dirt to sink to the bottom of the bowl. Pick or slice the leaves from the stems and discard the stems. Add cilantro at the end of cooking or as a garnish. See TheSpruceEats.com for more information on cilantro and how to store it.
Maple syrup comes from the sap of sugar maple trees. It is available in 4 grades based on its color. Grade A is light amber, medium amber and dark amber and Grade B is the darkest syrup available and has the strongest maple flavor. Grade B is usually for baking whereas the lighter grades are drizzled on foods such as pancakes. Read food labels carefully when buying maple syrup to make sure that it is pure and not maple flavored syrup with added ingredients such as corn syrup or refined sugar.
All “maple syrups” may not be vegan. Check the ingredients and label carefully to make sure there are no added ingredients.
Rice noodles are made from rice flour, water and sometimes other ingredients such as tapioca or cornstarch which are added to improve transparency or increase the chewy texture of the noodles. They are commonly used in Thai, Vietnamese and Malaysian cooking.
Rice noodles are gluten free and cook very quickly. It is important to prepare them according to the package directions. Once cooked, unless using them immediately, drain and rinse the rice noodles with cold water. This is an important step to keep the noodles from sticking together. After rinsing, if not using immediately, toss them gently in a small amount of olive oil to keep the noodles separated.
Rice vinegar is made from fermented rice. It is typically far less acidic and milder than pure distilled white vinegar. According to thekitchn.com, there are several varieties of rice wine:
“White rice vinegar: Clear to yellow in color. When most recipes call for rice vinegar, this is the kind they’re referring to. Note that Japanese varieties tend to be more delicate and Chinese ones sharper.
Brown rice vinegar: Light to dark brown in color. Made from unpolished brown rice, this version of rice vinegar is reputedly richer in nutrients. It can often be used in place of white rice vinegar.
Black rice vinegar: Deeper in color and flavor, this somewhat smoky-tasting vinegar is made from black glutinous rice and other grains like wheat, millet, and sorghum. Often used in Chinese stir fries, dipping sauces, and as a condiment.
Red rice vinegar: Made from red yeast rice (a fermented rice) and sometimes barley and sorghum, this sweet, tart, and salty vinegar is often used in Chinese seafood dishes and dipping sauces.
Seasoned rice vinegar: White rice vinegar with added sugar, salt, and sometimes sake or MSG. Used to season rice for sushi and also good in salad dressings.”
Soy Sauce, Tamari, Liquid Aminos, Coconut Aminos?
Soy sauce contains soybeans and wheat, therefore it is not gluten free. It is very high in sodium, but there are low sodium alternatives.
Tamari contains soybeans but has little or no wheat. If you are avoiding gluten, you should check the label carefully to make sure that it does not contain wheat. It is also very high in sodium, but there are lower sodium alternatives.
Bragg’s Liquid Aminos is made with soybeans, but it is wheat free and therefore gluten free. It is high in sodium.
Coconut Aminos contain raw, coconut tree sap and sun-dried sea salt. It is soy free and gluten free and lower in sodium than soy sauce, tamari and liquid aminos.
As always, check labels carefully to be sure what you are consuming.
Pronounced “see-ROTCH-ah”, Sriracha is a type of hot sauce which contains a paste of chili peppers, distilled vinegar, garlic, sugar, and salt. There are many copycats, but the original sauce comes from Huy Fong Foods in California. The sauce is moderately spicy.
If you like this recipe for Rainbow Vegan “Pad Thai” you might also like